The internet has changed the world in remarkable fashion. Not everyone agrees that the changes are for the better. Give both the advantages and disadvantages of the internet.

There is a wide ideology that the internet has a powerful global impact. Some people believe that this impact resulted in positive changes. Meanwhile, there is a group that believes otherwise. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of the Internet. On the one hand, there are multiple advantages of the internet. For example, many academics and professionals use it for extracting information for research purposes. Whereas others use it to publish research articles that are easily accessible for the majority of people to read at the global level, replacing archives. Moreover, another key advantage is communication. Due to the variety of social media platforms, many people are able to interact and socialise remotely, resulting in more cultural exchanges. Furthermore, healthcare was also introduced remotely in recent years, providing direct access to healthcare providers through telehealth. This results in fewer patients in waiting areas at hospitals. On the other hand, there are many negative aspects of the internet. First, there is the availability of violent and graphic content online. For example, graphic content shared on social media platforms nowadays may result in normalising aggression among certain people. Targeted specifically are children and adolescents. Similarly, another disadvantage is the possibility of being exposed to cyber-bullying or blackmail. This particular issue has been increasing over the past ten years as psychologists have emphasised the negative effects of online bullying on its victims, leading to anxiety and depression. Lastly, the internet may be perceived as a waste of time. For instance, scrolling through social media made it easier for many individuals to lose track of time, resulting in less productivity. In conclusion, I believe that the internet has more advantages since it has drastically changed the world. However, in the end, the pros and cons of the internet depend on the individual and their sense of responsibility.