In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Around the world, the general life expectancy has increased when compared to previous years. This, in turn, has sparked a debate on whether the older generation has a positive impact on the authorities and the community as a whole. On the one hand, the elderly society serves as mentors to the youth in the community. Over the years, they have managed to accumulate high levels of expertise and valuable skills. Through inter-generational learning, the younger generation is able to gain more knowledge that will shape them to become better people in the future. This plays a key role in knowledge transmission as well as, providing important insights. In addition, they also play a vital role in preserving traditions and societal stability. They also ensure cultural continuity by participating in storytelling sessions. This helps to keep cultural customs alive. On the other hand, the elderly demographic has placed a lot of pressure on government resources. This is as a result of the increased expenditure on pension funds, healthcare and aged care services. Additionally, there is a shortage of skilled workers due to the imbalance in the working population. As a result, there is a higher dependency ratio and lower tax revenue, slowing down the economic growth. The healthcare system is also negatively impacted due to the increasing number of people who are diagnosed with chronic illnesses. This leads to an increased demand for long-term care and overburdens the healthcare systems. In conclusion, the older generation makes a valuable contribution to society and also offers support to the younger generation. However, the ageing population impose long-term economic challenges and strains the public healthcare system. Therefore, despite some benefits, the disadvantages of a greying population outweigh the advantages.