Discussion Essay Questions: Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding how to decide on punishments for criminals. While some people believe that each offence should have a fixed punishment, others argue that punishments should be given after analysing the circumstances and motive. In my opinion, I agree with the latter view because such decisions enforce fair treatment and provide an opportunity to reduce crime rates. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion with relevant examples. On the one hand, critics argue that fixed charges are better to deter people from committing crimes. If the public is aware of such charges for each offence, they will understand the consequences before getting involved in such activities. Therefore, this kind of awareness will significantly reduce the number of crimes, which will ensure the safety and security of society. For example, in China, the government has enforced long-term sentencing even for minor theft and burglary, which deters the public from getting involved, and, as a result, minor crimes are significantly reduced. On the other hand, analysing the motive and circumstances is crucial to give fair treatment. In other words, sometimes claims might be faulty that could convict innocent people in certain situations, thereby giving a standard punishment is not fair in such cases. Hence, understanding the situation and motivation gives an opportunity to identify criminals and give them chances to reintegrate with society. For instance, it is evident that judges often encourage offenders to have lawyers in order to support their views in courts to ensure punishments are lawful. From my perspective, despite fixed punishments, though it acts as a threat to deter criminals from getting involved in such activities, officials should analyse the purpose and situations of such crimes to give the right punishments which protect innocents from being convicted. In conclusion, although some people believe that fixed punishments reduce crimes and deter offenders, I believe that analysing the purpose and circumstances of such crimes is crucial before deciding on punishments, as it protects innocents and gives opportunity to integrate with society.