In some countries, birth rates are fallling and experts say that by 2050 these countries will have far more adults aged 65 and over than children under 15. What problems might this cause in the future? Can anything be done to solve this issue?

It is true that some countries a experiencing reduced birth rate, with some experts assuming that by 2025 these nations will have more older adults than children under the age of 15. This recent development comes with several issues but some viable solutions can be adopted to tackle them. One major problem that comes from falling birth rate is reduction in the workforce. As the population age, more and more people will go into the retirement age, leaving the workforce low on staffs. When these older workers retire, usefull skills that are important for economic growth will be lost. Looking at the healthcare sector for instance, doctors who have worked for so many years are usually more skilled than junior doctors. When these doctors are ready to retire, they will take their knowledge with them without being able to teach any junior doctors. As a result, not only are these vital skills lost, but also the reduction in the number of staffs. The reduction in population is another issue of low birth rate. Seeing that very few women give birth nowadays, the olders one die, leaving the country low on numbers. This continous trend ends up reducing the total number of individuals living in these nations. There are several effective solutions that can help solve the issue of low birth rate. One feasible approach is to open the immigration route for foriegners to enter these countries. The authorities can create a visa route to enable citizens from other nations to come into the country. Doing so will increase the population in these countries and also rectify the issue of low woking-class people. For example, visas, such as student visas and refugee visas can be deployed to bring young people into the country. Additionally, to aid the issue of falling birth rate, the government could also place incentives for new mother who give birth. For example, pregnant women can given a fixed sum of money before they give birth and subsequently they can be paid monthly child allowances to help with the cost of training a child. In conclusion, due to several factors, the decline in birth rate has been increasingly popular in many countries; however, solutions, such as incentives for pregnant women and new immigration route can help alleviate the problems that come with this trend. Such problems are low workforce and decreased population.