Do the advantages of having English as a global language outweigh the disadvantages

Languages play a crucial role in the world of modern societies. While speaking english as a second language has a lot of advantages, it does not necessarily mean that it has no disadvantages. In this essay, I will discuss both its pros and cons. On the one hand, there is a definite link between language and preserving culture. When English is considered a trendy way of communication, the majority of people, especially the young who are really crazy about following new things, are more likely to ignore their mother tongues to speak this language. As a result, they regarded their languages as a thing of the past, which can pose a threat to their culture because they no longer pay attention to the traditional way of communication. Moreover, it can cause inequality among people. To clarify, nowadays, many place a high value on those who can speak a language and prioritise them over others. When those who are deprived of facilities to learn such a new language, they may be overlooked in societies. On the other hand, speaking a second language plays a crucial role in increasing global appreciation. For example, in this way, individuals can communicate with many people all around the world with different backgrounds, which allows them to become familiar with different cultures, customs, and traditions. In other words, they broaden their horizons towards other nations. In addition, it provides many job opportunities. For instance, in this contemporary era, businesses and corporations seek applicants who are able to communicate through an international language. If a job seeker can provide these requirements, they can find a suitable occupation in an advanced company abroad, leading to shaping their future positively. In conclusion, although putting foreign languages as a top priority by locals can endanger local cultures and traditions, it has a lot of merits that can not be ignored by many