In some countries, parents are choosing to teach children themselves at home instead of sending thier kids to school. Do the advantages of homeschooling outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, many parents are choosing to homeschool their children rather than send them to receive a formal education. With the ever-changing nature of education, more and more families are opting for this. However, I believe that homeschooling poses more disadvantages than advantages. On one hand, the school system provides more than just education. It allows children to interact with their peers, fostering other skills including collaboration and communication. These skills are crucial in life and are things that must be taught and learnt as a child grows. Homeschooling limits the chance of this as children are not exposed to as many children of the same age. This could be detrimental to their growth. Moreover, schools have the resources to help a child excel. While it is true that some schools may lack the proper resouces needed in some cases, it is not the norm. Most schools will have trained professionals who are aware of what children need to develop wholistically, not just academically. This can only be replicated in some circumstances of homeschooling, not most. As a result, I firmly believe that normal schools provide more advantages than homeschooling. On the other hand, there is no denying that homeschooling comes with its own positives. First, it allows children to have more time with their instructor. In schools, the ratio of teacher to students averages at around 1:26. With homeschooling, it could be as low as one on one. This benefits the child greatly as their instructor is more aware of their needs and their strengths, allowing tailored education. Second, it also allows the teaching to match the child's pace. Not every child learn at the same speed and homeschooling addresses this. With that said, some skills, like the collaboration skill mentioned earlier, are too important to be shelved and homeschooling lacks the proper environment to hone such skills. To conclude, both formal schooling and homeschool offers advantages and disadvantages. It is important to acknowledge the duality of both sides. While homeschooling can be beneficial as it offers more tailored instructions and approaches, it does not, in my opinion, trump real schools as there are things you can only learn in the presence of other students and professional teachers.