People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Within the education system, literature has been taught as one of the main subjects within language classes. Moreover, it has served as a study of art; authors, past and present, have communicated complex ideas regarding our world through literature. Due to its prevalence in the English language, we cannot undermine the importance of literature as a form of art and educational substance. It has been studied in classes for centuries, yet, some may argue that literature isn't as important as it seems, and lessons regarding literature should be substituted for more important subjects. Those who believe that literature is a waste of time may state that there are more important subjects to teach; grammar, structured writing, and vocabulary come to mind as subjects that are often taught in English. Furthermore, they believe that literature may be outdated as an educational source, as most literature studied in schools can be considered as 'classics' - Shakespeare, Austen, Dostoevsky - they are all writers from a past time, and their writings may not be as relevant today as they were in the past. In short, literature is a construct from a past time, and in the modern era, there are more important subjects to learn about. Due to literature's presence in English education, there are those who argue in favour of literature being taught in schools. Literature is an important source of vocabulary and grammatical comprehension. Students who read literature will grasp complex vocabulary easier, and will pick up important grammatical cues from the stories that they read. Readers of literature will also learn about the complex ideas that are set forth within literature - they learn about morality, social justice, human nature, and more important concepts that will carry over to their lives. To summarise, those who support the inclusion of literature within the education system view it more than just 'stories', as literature carries many benefits, from learning about vocabulary to learning about life as a whole. I believe that literature is an important aspect of life - everyone should read a classic once in their lives. Literature introduces you to ideas that you may never have thought of before, to uncomfortable truths about life, and to new grammatical and writing structures that will undoubtedly improve your English comprehension skills. Furthermore, many education systems across the world encourage students to read literature, as studies have shown that reading is a valuable source of knowledge and a great hobby for their cognitive abilities. For these reasons, I believe that literature is a necessary component within education, and certainly not a waste of time.