In the future all cars, busses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Some claim that futuristic means of transit will be able to get individuals to any destination, without relying on a driver. This essay will argue that the advantages of this ambitious project might be overshadowed by the drawbacks. It will also suggest the potential benefits that will follow the implementation of such an initiative, and then demonstrate overlooked disadvantages we might have to take into account. One of the biggest advantages would be the accessibility of this autonomous travel. This especially favours people with disabilities, as they do not have to steer manually, brake, or pay much attention to the road. Therefore, the endeavour to make integrate driverless cars into daily life may promote inclusivity. It is generally acknowledged that road accidents have been on the rise daily. If this transportation is designed with considerable attention, putting the safety of the passengers first, accidents might be mitigated, as there will no longer be distracted drivers behind the wheel. On the other hand, those against this initiative can provide arguments as to why this situation requires more focus than one might realise. Technology can be two-sided; it can work in our benefit or against us. It appears that cybersecurity is a global concern, especially for national organisations. This current situation may be used to adopt rigorous assessments, as vulnerability to hacking could also interfere with self-driving vehicles. However, even if we could avoid such issues with technological advancements, we have to consider system breaches as a great concern that could not only jeopardise people's safety, but also spark ethical dilemmas. In conclusion, driverless cars might be the next goal in the near future, but as of now, I am not entirely convinced that we have enough resources to start implementing this project. However, the future is unpredictable. With emerging technologies, we may find a solution to secure one's safety when dealing with autonomous means of transport.