Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The matter of volunteering programmes as a compulsory part of school education has been discussed for years. Still, there are some who disagree with this idea and a plethora of proponents as well. Personally, I strongly agree that these kinds of initiatives can help youngsters foster self-awareness and self-responsibility and additionally support local projects. It goes without saying that, in accordance with the well-known saying "Old habits die hard", we should start in childhood and teach young people to pay attention to what happens around them. Moreover, we have to do this by giving them a real chance to access not only workshops, but also local initiatives in which they can be involved. In this way, they can familiarize themselves with everything they should know about collaboration, communication, time management and conflict resolution. Library volunteers, who usually help to organise books, support meetings or even conduct workshops, will soon become well-equipped workers. Additionally, this kind of involvement helps local communities and initiatives deal with recurrent problems related to insufficient human resources ready to support them when needed. I have heard many stories about non-governmental organisations that are looking for volunteers when they organise festivals or cultural events, and there is always a shortage of people to help them. In conclusion, I do believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes, not only to support local initiatives and address shortages of human resources, but also because it helps youngsters become better prepared for the labour market.