People sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on them?

Nowadays, many individuals sleep fewer hours than they did a few years ago. This is mainly because they tend to work longer hours to earn more money, which often results in fatigue. People tend to sleep less than in the past because they are expected to work more in order to earn higher salaries. The main reason is that many companies encourage employees to work overtime if they want incentives or promotions. Additionally, many private companies exploit workers by not paying them properly. For example, private hospitals often pay only one-fourth of the salary compared to government hospitals. As a result, individuals have to work longer hours, sacrificing their sleep. The primary effect of not sleeping adequately is chronic fatigue. This affects their day-to-day work and ability to perform with efficiency. Furthermore, this also means that they underperform at work because of being too tired or irritable around those at work or could even have health problems. For instance, a study shows that people who slept for 8 hours worked more activitly and efficiently than those who did not get enough sleep and developed more health issues. To conclude, many individuals sleep for fewer hours than that of the past because they are expected to work more to earn high salaries, which results in fatigue to the point of exhaustion.