Foreign travellers should take time to understand the culture and history of the country they live in. Based on your own knowledge and experience, give your opinion on this topic.

As foreigners travel from country to counrty, it is very important for them to familiarise themselves with the history and culture of the citizens in the country. I solely agree with this as it is important for one to respect and appreciate different means of life across the globe. Firstly, a people's past and current way of life gives a clear image as to how and why they lead their lives in a certain way. For example, in Islamic countries, pork is strictly forbidden. A foreigner who loves eating pork products such as ribs may fail to understand this, but upon further enquiry, they get to understand why pork is considered spiritually unclean by Muslims. Moreover, exposure to different means of living expands an individual's understanding of the world. This goes a long way in giving people different ideas, perspectives and building tolerance by learning to respect and embrace people just as they are. For instance, one may travel to a country where poverty affects many families. Upon witnessing the struggles and challenges that these families face daily, a visitor will return home with having better gratitude towards their own growth. Additionally, one also learns to interact with and appreciate people living under such circumstances. In conclusion, I agree that visitors from foreign countries should take time to understand the origin and means of life of the communities they engage with. They ought to view it as a learning experience and a means for them to grow and better understand the world they live in