Some old people today struggle with the use of modern technologies such as smartphones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

In this day and age, it is considered by a plethora of individuals that, elders have difficulty acclimating to new high-tech devices. The main cause of this is the novel nature of the technology revolution and the best solutions involve education. To begin with, the elderly have trouble catching up with new developments in technology because computers and the internet are fundamentally novel. Furthermore, laptops require a skill set that is completely foreign to humans who did not grow up in the last 30 years. To utilize these kinds of gadgets, one must be able to type, set up online accounts, recall passwords, troubleshoot IT problems and navigate both the internet and a wide range of internet-based apps. For those born into the internet era, this is all second nature, but for others, the learning curve is often too steep. The simple process of turning on these sorts of appliances and locating programs exploiting an unfamiliar interface can be overwhelming and serves as the principal, initial barrier. On the other hand, the best solutions for this relate to education. Firstly, older people who are still working require special training programs and patience from their employers and themselves. Competence is likely given detailed instructions and enough time to practice. Secondly, a great deal of retired citizens want to spend more time with their kids, grandchildren and old friends, but it can be difficult to travel, particularly if they live far apart. Old-timers would be enormously motivated to make video calls and keep in touch with familiar ones with applications like Skype, Facetime and so on. Through simple instructions from family members, it is possible that video-conferencing could become a routine task. In a nutshell, elders today often can not understand the machinery because it is a seismic shift in perspective and the solutions involve patient training at work and home. In this way, the benefits of technology can be extended to a generation that missed out on them in their youth.