Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects.Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to study for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is a trend for some pupils to go the extra mile to read about additional subjects apart from their major books.Other folks think that it is better to focus on one speciality at a time in order to achieve higher grades.Both schools of thought have their own pros and cons which will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs.I personally would prefer studying for the qualification rather than wasting hours on non relevant stuff. There are numerous merits of learning about diverse subjects. Firstly, reading a single book can make a person get bored very early.So, by shifting attention towards other books, the individual gets more energy to concentrate on the syllabus books. Secondly, more knowledge gives more confidence. It is well said that "knowledge is power". We see the individuals who are more literate, perform better at their workplaces. Thirdly, it provides an opportunity to get an extra qualification. For instance, while doing MBBS, some of my colleagues studied English as an extra subject and just by passing the paper on English they got an additional degree of Bachelor of Arts. Last but not least, there is a chance to pursue an alternative career if one fails in the original plan. On the other hand, the hypothesis of concentrating on the main speciality has advantages of its own.First of all, the pupils who give their time mostly to the course material have less failure rate. This habit helps them avoid wasting a year to reappear in the papers. Secondly, it is important to obtain higher grades to get a good job, as the big companies often hire the shining stars of a university while they are still studying which is possible only by focusing on the major fields of interest. Thirdly, higher studies are also dependent on completing the bachelor studies in the first division which is a criterion for admission in many advanced universities. Low achievers and repeaters are less likely to avail that opportunity. Moreover, it is always advisable to pursue one career at a moment as a person who keeps his feet in two boats is more likely to sink. For example, my college fellow after completing his house job started a residency in the Pakistani fellowship program and meanwhile, he also started preparing for the MRCP exam in the United Kingdom. As a result, he was not able to pass either of the exam and is still struggling to sail through the papers. In addition, it is well known that a jack of all trades is a master of none.So, it is better to be a specialist in any field. It not only gives a person more respect but also has better financial prospects. To summarize, learning more subjects during university education has both positive and negative aspects but I think it is more useful to complete one degree before embarking on the next adventure.