n the past, lectures were used as a way of teaching large numbers of students, but now with the development of technology for education, many people think there is no justification for attending lectures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Historically, large numbers of students were taught by way of lectures. With the advances of communication technology, some people have argued for the adoption of alternative methods of education. However, I disagree with the argument that technological development has rendered lectures obsolete. A common criticism of lectures is that lectures do not encourage independent thinking. Lectures are often unfavorably compared to religious or political indoctrination, in which the audience are seldom allowed to criticize the speaker or call their views into question. Critics have also argued that new technologies have allowed large number of students to be educated while allowing students to learn at their own pace and to find alternative sources of information. However, in my opinion lectures remain an important part of students ' education. Lectures allow for efficient introduction to wide ranges of ideas, which can guide students to expand on those ideas in their own time. Lectures also allow students to ask questions directly to professors, unlike pre-recorded materials which don't usually provide a way for students to comment or question the teachers. Technological solutions aren't contradictory to lectures, either. Learning materials such as books or quizzes can be provided online to complement a lecture. In conclusion, technological development is unlikely to render lectures unnecessary. As discussed, lectures is an important facet of a student's education, and while technology can be used to complement lectures, it is unlikely to replace lectures.