The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

Among medical researchers, the proper approach to health has been discussed for many years. Nowadays, it goes without saying that it is better to prevent health issues than treat them. I partially agree with this statement. The importance of prevention dates back to the discovery of the first vaccines against illnesses such as polio and influenza, which enhanced people’s immunity and life expectancy. Once vaccines became widely available, more individuals were able to fight severe medical conditions and considerably improve their quality of life. For example, in the past only one child out of five was likely to survive in good physical condition. Thanks to vaccination programmes, children today are about 40% more likely to survive to their next birthday compared with a scenario without vaccines, showing the dramatic impact of immunisation. Furthermore, authorities should allocate public funds to social campaigns to raise awareness of prevention. The more authorities encourage residents to have regular check-ups, exercise, and maintain a balanced diet, the better. Scandinavian nations are good examples of this trend, as many families take part in activities such as cross-country skiing. Recent research shows that in some Scandinavian nations the average number of medical consultations has decreased by about 12% over the last five years. However, even though many preventive solutions exist, some health concerns require medical intervention. Advanced treatments such as long-term chemotherapy for severe illnesses like cancer or modern genetic therapies are indispensable. A balanced healthcare system therefore requires both prevention and treatment to deal with major illnesses and possible outbreaks of infectious disorders. To sum up, although prevention can help societies maintain better well-being and reduce illnesses, it is equally important to provide proper medical treatment. Only a balanced approach can ensure a high standard of healthcare for the entire population.