n recent years, many people have adopted a minimalist lifestyle, choosing to own only essential possessions. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this way of living?

From the remains of the late XX century modernist movement and a new global shift towards anti consumerism, a new “style” of living arose - minimalism. Coined by its simplicity and practicality, minimalism swept around the world becoming the new craze. So what made this lifestyle so popular and what may it lack? On the advantageous part we have the anti consumerist worldview. If seeking to embrace practicality and efficiency, this trend provides the ideal blueprint. People can achieve better spending margins and utilize their space more efficiently, manufacturers can prioritize efficient mass production, even the living environment planners can embrace practicality - a win win situation for all. However, on the contrary we see the "shallowness" of it all. Fundamentally, minimalism tends to lean towards a worldview which eliminates all emotional connection to the material world in favour of production efficiency. This eventually leads to the “great grey sludge”, where the environment begins to lose colour and beauty. Naturally, it leads to great dissatisfaction for a person living in it. Overall we can see the clear distinction between disadvantages and advantages of such a lifestyle. It becomes quite obvious that minimalism is not perfect and that we should be careful when creating the environment which surrounds us or it may lead us to unpleasant consequences.