Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others contest those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

There has been a long debate over who has the final decision when it comes to designing newly constructed buildings. Some argue that this should be supervised by the government, while others argue that the style and layout should be decided by those who fund the construction. While the government should have a minimal say in the final design, I firmly believe that the creative process should be left to the individuals or company funding it. When it comes to architectural fluidity, all new buildings should be in harmony with the existing ones, to some extent. The government should keep a close eye on the development of such projects because it can be detrimental to the overall aspect of a city. If the design of multiple buildings does not go well together, it might affect tourism, as it could make a city less visually appealing. For instance, in the city centre of Paris, all buildings have a cohesive appearance that is attractive to tourists all over the globe. Subsequently, governments taking part in the approval of new structures ensure that the population's interests are taken into account, rather than leaving this decision for private companies that have their own agendas. Nevertheless, with proper communication and collaboration, authorities and establishments could work together to ensure that all needs are met. Although important for the overall aspect of a city, new buildings also need to be practical. Those funding such projects, have spent extended periods of time planning and taking into account all the positive and negative parts that go into certain designs. While some plans might generally fit better visually, they are not the most practical or useful. For example, an office building can often not meet the aesthetic of a vintage house because it is not productive. Because of this, the final decision should be in the hands of the people who bear the financial responsibility. Furthermore, the process of planning, designing and constructing a new building is exceptionally costly. Not only are the materials expensive, but the people involved in creating everything are also an important expenditure, such as architects, designers, and engineers. In conclusion, while both sides of the debate argue strong points, I strongly align with the second opinion.