Many countries offer a free health care system to their citizens rather than relying on private healthcare. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a free system?

Nowadays, it is commonly thought that healthcare is a basic human right, and because of that, many governments provide free healthcare services to their citizens. In my opinion, I believe that the benefits of the national healthcare system outweigh the drawbacks. The main advantage of a free healthcare system is that everyone can access it at a minimum level of fee or without any charges. To low-income people, this provides them the chance to experience advanced healthcare treatment which they cannot afford by themselves. In addition, the national healthcare system can also improve the rate of people getting vaccinated, especially in children and the elderly, consequently, enhancing the health level of the country's population. However, it is also a burden for the government to maintain a free healthcare system in terms of operation cost. To explain further, the government has to spend a huge amount of the national budget to build the healthcare system, such as buying cutting-edge equipment or building new hospitals in rural areas, and even invest more every year to keep it operating smoothly. In the long run, it may lead to the financial crisis and overall economic instability. In conclusion, although the benefits of offering free healthcare services to citizens exceed the drawbacks, I think that the government should plan it carefully to remain a long-term development and make this privilege sustainable. Some solutions can be taken into consideration such as funding from corporations, focusing on prevention rather than treatment, and so on.