Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others, however, believe that the problems cannot be solved if individuals do not take actions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Environmental degradation is becoming an ever-increasing issue worldwide nowadays. While some assert that environmental issues are too demanding for individuals to resolve on their own, others believe, however, that without the campaigns of people, solving them can be a far-fetched goal. It seems to me the latter view is undeniable. Supporters of the view that the solution of environmental problems is not in the hands of individuals alone point to financial necessities, which human being often fail to cover. This means that manufacturing electric vehicles to minimise air pollution, switching from finite sources to natural ones in order to generate electricity require huge amount of funds, making it unreachable for the public. It is, therefore, governments that should take action and invest in green technologies instead of citizens. Take developed countries such as the USA, Germany or Japan, where such initiatives have already been implemented, thereby ameliorating the negative consequences of carbon emissions, which are considered the main cause of global warming as a pertinent example. Those who support the assertion that environmental issues cannot be addressed unless people change their attitudes and habits toward the environment. If people were to purchase sustainable and recyclable products on a daily basis instead of relying on non-recyclable ones and become environmentally conscious citizens, the issues, including air and water pollution, along with deforestation, would certainly be diminished. For instance, population in countries like China and Korea have been reported to be environmentally friendly by adopting good habits, like not throwing trash and being responsible for the natural environment with their actions. Hence, not only should individuals be considerate of nature, but their actions also play a pivotal role in achieving this goal. In conclusion, although funds can place a huge financial burden on individuals alone, resulting in proving the former point to be beyond doubt, I agree with those who consider actions by individuals matter most due to their daily habits.