Some people believe that it is possible for a country to be economically successful and have a clean environment. Others argue that these two objectives are not compatible. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about whether a country can be economically developed and environmentally clean simultaneously or not. I believe that the co-existence of both factors in a country is possible with the help of technologies and human habits. More detailed explanations can be found in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, there is a common notion among people that economic growth harms the environment. The notion is quite right, since industrial expansion often involves abundant amounts of production, which lead to air pollution, forest decimation, and resource scarcity. For example, in the production of electricity, the most popular way of producing it is using coal; when conflagrated, it releases extreme heat, which is directed to water. The water turns into steam that rotates the tool and generates electricity. The main negative thing about it is conflagration, where a tremendous amount of greenhouse gases is released. As, unlike other methods, it does not require special conditions like wind turbines or tidal stations, it is widely used in almost all countries in the world every day. Enhancing economic progress is prioritized over environmental recovery, as the goal is to improve living standards. As a result, that notion came up; sometimes it seems that environmental growth is an unavoidable price for development. On the other hand, the unity of these objectives is not something impossible to achieve. With advancements in technology, many countries will be able to promote economic progress whilst minimizing the effects on the environment. This is already becoming real in some fields of production; for instance, until 2023, renewable energy sources provided approximately 12% of all energy, whereas now this figure has reached 27% in 2025, which means governments and scientists have found ways of gaining more energy from renewable energy sources such as solar panels or GES, which were claimed to be no match for the coal method. Furthermore, people can reduce harm to the environment by just not wasting food in their daily lives. According to American databases, 43.6% of all food cooked in a day is not consumed, which noticeably affects the environment. The influence from food can be felt after finding out that damage from meals is more than that from all transportation systems contributing to global issues. In conclusion, although economic growth has been previously connected with environmental deterioration, modern innovations and people’s habits can make it feasible to reach this unity of targets.