Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, the debate on whether the reason for learning other languages is for the purpose of travelling and working abroad has been heated. While some people believe that practical factors like studying or working abroad are the only motivations for language learning, others believe that there are also other factors that contribute to the learning process. As far as I am concerned, people learning a foreign language is not only for travelling and working, but there are plenty of reasons behind it. This essay will examine both sides and give my own view. For people who are not interested in language learning, practical needs such as working or travelling abroad may be the only motivation to study a foreign language. For example, some Americans can speak Spanish due to trade demands, and these two countries are neighbouring countries. Thus, this kind of phenomenon could explain the reason. However, for people with strong linguistic ability, learning a foreign language can simply be an enjoyment. Those people who enjoy the process of bilingual study are attributed to curiosity about different cultures. For example, plenty of people interested in music or literature choose to learn Korean or Japanese even though they have not travelled abroad yet. In this case, language learning cannot only be regarded as a practical skill, but it is a hobby as well. In conclusion, although working and travelling are the major reasons for foreign linguistic study, these are not the sole purpose for people who are interested in language learning.