Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be beneficial to society. Others say the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The purpose of education is a subject that divides opinion. While some people argue that education for individuals is beneficial to society, others contend that it is for personal growth. Personally, I am more inclined towards the latter view. On the one hand, those who believe that education is to prepare individuals to be beneficial to society often point to the fact that educated people are more qualified to support the economy of a country. This is because education teaches them how valuable their skills can be for the growth of the country. For instance, Japan has 90% of literacy rate, and they teach children how they can contribute to the country as individuals. As a consequance Japan's economy is growing every day by 5%. While this perspective has some validity, it overlooks individual growth and personal ambitions. On the other hand, I find the argument that education is to achieve personal growth considerably more persuasive. The primary reason is that if an individual focuses on his/her own goals, like supporting their family members financially by taking high-paying jobs, then it will eventually contribute to the betterment of society. This is clearly demonstrated by Anil Ambani, who is the founder of the Jio industry. He first studied telecom in London, and when he moved back to India, he started his own company to support him financially, and now Jio is the largest taxpayer in India. It is for this reason that I align myself with this perspective. In conclusion, although both viewpoints have merit, I believe that the purpose of education is for personal ambitions because, if someone can take high paying job and support his/her family, then they are automatically contributing to society.