Some people say that high school programmes should include compulsory unpaid community service (for example coaching sports to younger children, helping to improve the neighbourhood, or volunteering for a charity). To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary world, there has been an increasing debate among scholars on whether school should include unpaid community service or not. Some argues that schools need to make those services as a compulsory subject. I strongly agree with the opinion as I believe this is crucial in developing social skills and career development for young people. One of the compelling reasons why I agree with the idea is that young people will benefit from developing their social skills in a long-run. Participating in community services not only promote volunteering work, but also helps them to co-operate, collaborate, and work as a team. Interaction with a group of people and variety of ethnicity teach them to become responsible person socially and also build up their networking opportunities in a higher level. Furthermore, it also helps them to focus more on career development, particularly to those who are seeking to study community development subjects such as social work, psychology, and community service. Working with communities at a young age will them to gain experience about the foundation and structure of the society, which can become an advantage for them later to get university degree and future career pathway. However, it is also be acknowledged that adding extra subject can become burden to some students who are academically weak. Schools therefore should organise official discussion with local authorities, students and their parents before making it compulsory. Taking everything into account, although fewer students might struggle with the new change, I believe that adding community service subjects brings far better opportunities rather than the drawbacks in a long-run. I believe that being socially active and focusing more on career boost up young people lives in a modern world.