More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items with famous brands. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or a negative development?

The world has always revolved around communities and one's social status, but as social circles grew smaller, the need to be respected remained ingrained. This neurological need was capitalised by companies which marketed themselves as premium. This essay will dwell on how this development is allowing companies to harm social values, while exploiting one at the same time. To begin with, earlier products used to be priced based on their quality and craftsmanship, not on the basis of the logo placed, thus folk bought only what they needed instead of objects displaying status. For instance, in clothes, the focus shifted from fit and fabric quality to designer brands, which sell average products at high premiums because the crowd is willing to pay for the feeling of exclusivity. The issue arises as many surveys reveal that rich people are often not the ones spending most; instead, lower-income groups tend to spend most on famous brands, to mask their insecurities by wasting their money on subpar products just to feel good about themselves in public settings. Moreover, the exploitation doesn’t end there as these companies often use practices like child labour, low wages or inflating prices by using artificial scarcity to keep margins fat. In the past, many activists tried to raise their voices against these brands for abusing workers and psychological frameworks, but all fell on deaf ears due to their sheer monetary power. For example ‘APPLE’, a tech brand, was sued for such practices, but they still thrive in many markets, including India, because it is seen as a display of class. In conclusion, these popular brands will continue to take advantage of people till they are given the exclusivity they want. It can only end with awareness and promotion of local brands offering quality over hype, At the same time, changing the mindset of proving himself in front of others.