In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who are choosing to self-educate their children at home rather than sending them to school. Do advantages of home education outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the majority of parents prefer to teach their children themselves rather than educate them at school. While there are some visible downsides, such as limited social skills and unqualified parents, I believe the upsides - individual learning and a flexible environment - can be far greater. One concern of educating children at home can be a lack of social skills. With students being taught and surrounded by like-minded peers, students usually have opportunities to make friends and work in groups, which often cannot be provided by parents. This means that they may have less experience communicating with different people in the long term. Another negative side may be parents who do not have qualifications in the teaching sphere. Unlike school teachers, not all parents have the knowledge or teaching skills for every subject, meaning that children may receive a lower quality of education compared to school. However, these disadvantages are outweighed by the benefits of educating children from home, such as the flexibility of the environment. Families can choose their own schedules and learning methods, allowing children to study when they are most productive and comfortable. A major upside is that home education provides individual learning. Parents can adapt lessons to their children's strengths and weaknesses, helping them improve more quickly than in a traditional classroom where one teacher often focuses on many students simultaneously. In conclusion, even though delivering education at home has some negative sides, like unqualified parents and a shortage of social skills, the positive sides of it outweigh them with convenience and adaptability to the learner's pace.