Some students decide early in life to pursue vocational careers that involve cooking or baking. For them, it is better to study their chosen occupations in high school rather than regular subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, vocational careers, such as cooking, have become more attractive to some students. They point out that learners should study skills for these careers rather than regular subjects such as math, physics,... From my perspective, I do not strongly agree with this statements, which I will elaborate further in this essay. On the one hand, focusing on skills for particular jobs may bring more negative consequences than advantages. Students can limit their potential while studying for particular careers if they commit to a single career path too early. High school subjects are very necessary because they expose young learners to a wide range of fields, helping them understand their passions and dream jobs. However, courses for vocational jobs only train students in narrow skills, which might prevent them from discovering other academic or other interests. Furthermore, vocational careers not only requires pratical skills, but also need some solid foundation knowledge. This is because occasional occupation, especially technical ones, still rely heavily on basic academic principles to ensure safety from severe accidents. For example, a mechanic needs to know how to calculate applied forces for screws while repairing a vehicle. Similarly, a chef may use some mathematical calculations to determine the amount of food or the cost of the food. Therefore, without fundamental subjects, workers may face struggles in their vocational fields. To sum up, for individuals who already know what their future jobs, it is necessary to learn basic subjects in high school. Moreover, young students have to study fundamental subjects to consider their dreams and passions. Studying only specific skills for vocational fields will hit some adverse consequences for learners.