In many countries formal exams are used to asses students’ ability and judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assess students’ abilities.

Nowadays, many developed countries use formal exams in order to check students ' ability and judge the achievement of their education. There are both benefits and downsides to using such a way. On the one hand, one of the primary disadvantages of this method is that they only check book and academic knowledge. However, other important skills, such as creativity, working on a team, and problem-solving skills, are neglected. Furthermore, the majority of such exams are held under pressure, and making students nervous. As a result, they feel a sense of anxiety and stress due to though of making mistakes. Consequently, it can bring about lower results than they expected. On the other hand, there might be several benefits of using examinations. One of the main reasons for this method is that examiners lead to standard results. As long as students take exams without assistant activities and distractions, their results will be real and fair. Such a technique is comfortable for schools, universities, and private learning centres to see students ' progress. It not only leads to advantages for educational sectors, but also has a profound impact on increasing students ' skills, such as time management, and discipline. Another positive aspect of this method is that it can enhance productivity and high results for the course. If students ' results are not as good as expected, they try to develop and learn through hard work. As a consequence, an effective and best learning area will be created. To sum up, if examiners take exams with justice, using formal exams might be advantageous for everyone, and it is necessary that they pay attention to all students ' skills, such as creativity and others.