Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think is a positive or negative develompent?

In today's world, gadgets have been fundamental assets that most populations can not live without. Therefore, it is not rare to see children use their gadgets on a daily basis. From my perspective, the rapid usage of it has various drawbacks, such as addiction, online sexual harassment and grooming, and scamming. Firstly, the use of smartphones by children can create an addiction. Like in most cases, addiction is something that is not easy to be cured. This will push the children to be more focused on being up-to-date with digital trends, thus neglecting the outside and real world. In the long run, it could directly affect the children's behaviour and turn them into antisocial. As a result, their performance in school will greatly take a step back. Secondly, the majority of children are not well informed about the concept of 'consent', however, the digital world is a scary place. Due to its vast scope and high privacy, individuals are able to do any kind of thing with a fake identity, such as doing predatory actions. The most common cases in this sphere are online sexual harassment and grooming. Thus, children are most likely to be targeted by predators. Therefore, they become the victims of grooming and sexual harassment without knowing that they are victims. Most of them would likely experience a traumatic phase which will haunt them forever. Thirdly, as children surf the internet without the adults' surveillance, there is a high possibility that they will be influenced to do bad things. For instance, children could be found scamming individuals on the internet for quick cash. If they are found guilty, the law will be involved and they get jailed. Having a bad record in the police station will hinder their opportunity to get a job in the future even to continue their education. To sum up, it is a negative development that is evidenced by the rise of addiction, online grooming, and scamming.