Some people think that in order to be successful in business one has to study at university, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is an irrefutable fact that the success of a business can be attributed to several factors. While some people argue that a business person’s university education plays a vital role in running a business, others reject this notion. I totally agree with the former statement because third-level education provides exposure to new business techniques and connects with like-minded people for business expansion across the globe. Many people are of the view that there are numerous examples of successful people worldwide who decided to spend more time developing their businesses rather than studying at universities. For example, Bill Gates, the founder of Microsoft, decided to quit his education because he was convinced with the idea that the more time he will invest on acquiring a degree, the less time he would be able to spend on building his brand. However, there are very few such examples in the world and the probability of becoming a successful business owner is very low without receiving higher education. I would take the side of the people who support the perspective that post graduation education offers a platform to learn business tactics and helps them build a business -supportive network. To elaborate further, during completion of their professional course, students obtain the knowledge about evolving business tricks and tips to seize the opportunities available in the global market. Moreover, universities equip their students, particularly those who are studying in international universities, with a set of different brains from different geographies, which enables them to expand their businesses around the world. Thus, university students get an extra edge to lead the business world. In conclusion, although people strongly argue that studying at university is not essential because of certain existing examples in the real business world, I believe universities’ role in helping their students by offering a necessary business environment and essential business -related knowledge should not be overlooked. Therefore, enrolling in a business course is a prudent decision one should take.