Some people think that machine translation is highly developed in today's society. Therefore, it is not necessary for students to learn a foreign language. What's your opinion?

These days, the pace of technological change is rapidly increasing, and it is getting harder to catch technological breakthroughs. Machine translation is one of the latest well-developed technological advancements. For this reason, some humans think that they should use machine translation, instead of learning a new language. However, I believe that learning a foreign language and speaking it is irreplaceable, even if we had the most advanced technology, because of the emotions and naturalness. Firstly, when we are speaking with another person, the key factor that makes the conversation better is the emotions. Because we can't use sentences that are translated by a machine while speaking, we have to communicate in writing. However, passing the emotions to another person in writing is considerably tough. Furthermore, if we had used translation tools all the time, it would have sounded very unrealistic and would have lost the naturalness of the conversation. In contrast, we cannot neglect the advanced technologies blindly. Machine translation is an important innovation which helps people with their jobs or communication with a stranger. For instance, these days, students constantly use translation tools while doing their homework if they don't know the meaning of a word. In addition to that, when I was in Spain due to the Erasmus programme, I constantly used translation tools every day in order to communicate with local people; because I hadn't learned to speak Spanish before. However, I was also taking a Spanish language course at the same time. Consequently, keeping pace with technological developments is essential in our world, especially these days. Therefore, we should use machine translation in specific times when we really need translation for a job or communication. However, we still need to learn a foreign language in the long term, to maintain our naturalness when speaking and to be able to reflect our emotions.