Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish(garbage). Why do you think this is happening? what can government do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Nowadays, an increasing amount of garbage is being produced, and this trend can be attributed to overproduction and a lack of awareness about the consequences of excessive waste. To deal with this problem, governments should impose limits on factories and provide more information through different websites, channels and newspapers.

One of the main causes of waste is overproduction. In other words, companies may manufacture goods in large quantities to reduce production costs and maximise their profits. As a result, unsold products may remain in warehouses or eventually be discarded, while the manufacturing process itself generates considerable industrial waste. Consequently, the more goods factories produce unnecessarily, the more waste is likely to be generated.

Another significant reason for the increasing amount of garbage is a lack of public awareness. Many consumers are not sufficiently aware of the environmental consequences of excessive waste or the importance of proper waste management. Consequently, they may dispose of recyclable materials together with ordinary household rubbish rather than separating them. For example, some households may throw plastic bottles, cardboard and metal cans into general waste because they are unaware that these materials can be recycled. As a result, recyclable materials that could have been reused are sent to landfills, increasing the overall volume of waste.

Turning to solutions, one effective measure would be for governments to introduce stricter regulations on industries. They could set limits on the amount of waste that companies are permitted to produce and impose fines for those that exceed these limits. These rules can encourage manufacturers to reduce unnecessary production and use raw materials efficiently. For example, companies that generate excessive industrial waste could be heavily fined, while those who adopt cleaner production methods could receive tax incentives. As a result, the amount of waste sent to landfills would be significantly reduced.

Another effective measure is to raise public awareness about responsible waste disposal. Governments could provide information through social media, websites, television channels and newspapers, explaining the environmental consequences of excessive waste and teaching people how to recycle properly. For instance, nationwide campaigns could show households how to separate plastic, paper and glass from general trash. This could encourage people to adopt more environmentally responsible habits, ultimately reducing the amount of rubbish sent to landfill.

In conclusion, the increasing amount of garbage is mainly caused by overproduction and a lack of public awareness about waste management. However, this problem can be reduced if governments impose stricter regulations on factories and provide people with more information about recycling and responsible rubbish disposal.