Many people think that universities should focus on practical skills rather than theoretical knowledge. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days there has been a debate about whether practical expertise or subject knowledge needs to be prioritised in pursuing higher education. While there could be some reasons for accepting academic competence as the main aspect, I am partially against it due to the fact that hands-on skills play a crucial role in a working life.

On one hand, most people hold the view that university education can help them to land well-paid jobs. It is undeniable that it can equip young scholars with knowledge of underlying principles. Workers with expert knowledge in their fields are increasingly valued in contemporary society. It is not easy to obtain good grades and high GPAs in university. This means that they are determined and passionate in their subjects. This can give them a huge advantage in the working environment as the company does not have to spend extra resources for the recruitment process. For example, big and highly reputable companies usually scout top students in prestigious universities and offer internships.

However, on the other hand, it is my belief that having academic expertise does not guarantee a person’s success in their career. In today’s competitive job market, potential candidates with more work experience are preferable. For instance, interviewees are commonly asked their years of job experience in almost every interview. As a working environment is completely different from university, employers are unwilling to train newbies with zero work experience from scratch. Hiring experienced staff can be more beneficial in terms of productivity and performance in the long run.

In conclusion, although there are those who point out the importance of expert knowledge, it is my contention that work-related skills are also essential to become versatile individuals.