Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

It is said that after being released from prison, the increasing number of criminals continues to re-offend. There are a variety of reasons why this is a case and effective measures need to be taken urgently to tackle the phenomenon. There are two primary reasons why people who just finish serving prison sentences conduct criminal activities again. Firstly, criminals often find it difficult to reintegrate into the community after they have already paid for the previous crime. This is due to general population usually having negative perception of those who had broken the law in the past and citizens would assume that it is impossible for such individuals to become a productive member of society despite the fact that these ex-offenders already received the punishment. Secondly, after staying in the prison for an extended period of time, criminals’ skills and qualifications in order to seek a decent job have been deteriorating at an alarming rate. As a result, they could not find a job position to make a living coupled with the fact that no one wants to recruit someone who has criminal records. However, the government and the society should work together in terms of introducing possible steps to address the problem. The first solution could be that the media should constantly promote certain campaigns to raise public awareness of prison doing a good job to correct the mistakes of criminals and so that the inhabitants will gradually accept the view that ex-offenders will no longer conduct criminal activities that might threat other people’s life. The second solution is that the government should spend a sizable proportion of public funding on organizing educational programs and vocational courses in prison. Therefore, those who have been locked up in prison will have countless opportunities to upgrade their skills and experience to meet the expectations of the future employers which are willing to hire criminals to work for them. In conclusion, repeat offenders have been increasing in recent years due to several reasons. However, this problem can be solved by the collaboration between the government and society as a whole.