Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Clothes are one of the most vital accessories in a person’s physical appearance. Some thinkers believe that the type of clothes an individual wears is a projection of one ’s culture and character, to which I have dissenting views. On one hand, the attire of a person is a mirror of one ’s tradition, religion and even the kind of climate they lives in. For instance, a Muslim woman as a part of her religion chooses to wear the veil, in order to cover her head, which is a reflection of the traditions followed in most of the Islamic countries. Moreover, the beliefs and the way of thinking of a human can be presumed by the sort of clothing that one chooses to wear. For example, an easy going human may like to wear loose and comfortable clothes while a sophisticated person may prefer formal outfit that coincides with one ’s mentality. On the other hand, an individual’s clothing may not always reveal one ’s customs and cultural lifestyle. Evidently, a study has shown that due to the influence of western culture, youngsters, especially in developing countries like India and china, are keen to adopt western garments rather than their own traditional dresses. Apart from this, clothing sometimes may not manifest a person’s inner self. To give an illustration, many members of pop bands and even singers have to wear showy bright costumes for the sake of entertainment but that may not disclose their actual personality. To conclude, albeit the type of clothing one chooses to wear tells a lot about an individual, however, many a times it can prove to be deceiving and not the true reckoning of one ’s persona.