Write about the following topic: In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people in the world are currently unable to afford private healthcare because of its high price. While many believe that it is a personal expense, others argue that medical costs should be paid by the state. In my perspective, every human being as a taxpayer should be given free medical treatments because of the two reasons below. First of all, health is a basic human right and, therefore, it is the state responsibility to provide it, particularly when the one does not have the means to. An unhealthy person may lose the hability to work, to take care of themselves and even lose its dignity. Besides that, it is not a choice to be sick and it will happen multiple times in everyone´s life. It is cruel for the government to ignore this individual when it is in most need, even though it might compromise an important share of the internal finances. Additionally, states that do not take care of their civilians are intended to end with higher rates of sickness and less workforce. In other words, the more ill a population is, the less it is able to produce and to pay taxes. For instance, countries that do not have public vaccination campaigns tend to have a lower average mortality age and, consequently, a low percentual of working people and lower pace of public development. To conclude, from my perspective, governments should be responsible to pay for the health treatments of its population since it is a basic human right and it contributes to internal growth. Putting finances above life is cruel and should not be supported.