Smacking or punishing children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days disciplining the children is a headache for parents. Many of the parents’ further resort to smacking as a common practice to control their offspring. However, I absolutely discourage such violent activity towards kids. In this essay, the adverse impacts of spanking or punishing children will be discussed in detail. Using punishment as a tool to straighten up the children is quite common and this has been in practice for centuries. It is true that by resorting to spanking or beating up kids will generate instant results. However, this instant gratification of discipline lefts deep scars in the tender minds of these children, which can have severe impact on their behaviour, when they become adult. For instance, several studies have proven that this kind of childhood trauma can cause clinical depression, make children unsocial and in a worst case scenario, make them violent toward others. Hence, the parents should be careful about how they control their offspring. Now a day, parents are usually busy with their jobs to support the family. This situation makes the children turn into little attention seekers, as a result, they become annoying to the parents. But if the parents get tired of their children ’s behaviour and smack them to discipline, it will be very bad for the child and hurt their feelings in a brute manner. The children may slowly shut down to their parents which will create detachment with the parents. Therefore, it will make the children less confident, unsocial and passive aggressive in some cases. In conclusion, this essay makes its standing against any sort of physical violence toward children in order to let them grow as confident and social human beings. Therefore, I believe, smacking cannot be a plausible option to discipline and raise children. Rather we should raise them with love and care, and shower them will proper attention that they need.