Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food , clothes and entertainment)is likely to result in a society of individuals who think about their own wishes . other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Although it is thought that children should not be allowed to decide on everyday issues like food, clothes, other people argue that young people should be made to decide about matters affecting them. It is my opinion that allowing kids to choose for themselves helps to raise better children for the future. On the one hand, some people think that children who are free to make their own decisions become more independent thinkers and I agree. In other words, children learn to think for themselves, even in the absence of their parents. This will lead to producing young adults who can solve difficult problems on their own. For example, I have a six-year-old niece who has learnt to take care of the house when her parents are not available. Furthermore, children who learn to make decisions independently become better prepared later in life to choose future partners, unlike children who are prohibited from deciding for themselves. On the other hand, it is believed that children should never be allowed to decide what to eat, wear, or movies to watch as they have not reached a high level of reasoning to make such decisions. This is because children do not have the proper mental faculty to differentiate between what is right from wrong. That is to say that children could be easily influenced by their peers. For instance, it is reported by the Daily Times that 50% of crimes in the UK are mainly due to people who were left unsupervised during their childhood. In conclusion, while people may differ in their opinions, I think that children should be given a chance to decide for themselves on what matters to them so as to bring out a more prepared children for the future.