Some people think that zoos are cruel and that all zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals. Discuss.

A school of thought opines that zoos ought to shut down as animals are harshly treated, whereas others regard zoos as a conservation area for the unique species. I firmly believe that animals are not meant to be trapped and should be shifted to wildlife sanctuaries. On one side, zoos are regarded as a merciless place because of the treatment meted out to the voiceless creatures. It is clearly evident that it has become an economical place, where people come from far-off places to witness an animal dynasty in return of a hefty prize. Moreover, zoos do not render a congenial environment as they bombarded with visitors disturbing their regime. To exemplify, it was researched by a medical team from the United Kingdom that due to drastic changes in the natural way of living, they are becoming violent, which is detrimental not only for themselves but also for the human beings. However, it should not be forgotten that zoos also nurture the eclipsing species. This is because of animal shelters that some animal families are secured. It is a common phenomenon to hear about animal poaching for trade purposes. When animals are on their own, they are incessantly under threat of being hunted. Zoos serve as a guard for their well-being. For example, Tiger is most vouched wildlife creature for his skin and a plethora of them have been murdered only to acquire their precious skin. Some zoos in Asia have taken the onus to protect them. Finally, I bolster the former view and believe that a wildlife sanctuary must be developed to cater to their needs in order to provide them with their natural habitat. Zoos do not render adequate space for them to roam freely and are not kept well. So, for the betterment of everyone, it is suggested to go for the closure of zoos. However, sanctuaries must have provision for animals’ safety as this is the foremost concern. To recapitulate, although some individuals deem zoos as a conservation centre, it is deleterious for animals because of the unacceptable behaviour bestowed on them. I opine for healthy surroundings for their holistic development.