‘It is always wrong to keep animals in captivity, for instance in zoos’. How far do you share this view?

So controversial is the statement that zoos are regarded as places that limit the lives of animals. I disagree with this view to some extent, and I will explain why in this essay. Firstly, it is believed that in most cases zoos offer a secure and peaceful setting for animals, for example in high-quality wildlife parks or reserves. Indeed, in many cases, the animals would suffer from loss of habitat or poaching in the wild, and in captivity they are at least safe and able to breed successfully. Lastly, we should remember that zoos and animal parks are part of an integrated system of protecting animals, involving habitat protection, breeding programmes and disease control. This all helps to safeguard endangered species and thus preserve the global ecosystem for the future benefit of all life forms. Admittedly, I agree with those who say that the unnatural way in which animals live in such places can make animals have mental issues. However, it could be overcome by treating them well with professionals, such as understanding their psychological needs. In conclusion, it seems that keeping animals in captivity is not wholly justified for animals that still have a natural habitat. However, I do not entirely accept the opinion that, due to poaching in the wild, some animals need safe places to survive and breed to prevent extinction.