5.A. More people are traveling today than ever before. Why do you think this is?

Today, the number of people engaging in international travel is swelling rapidly. This is a trend that does not appear to be slowing at all. Although many factors have contributed to this growth, trade opportunities and increasing affluence are thought to be the main triggers. Both will be examined in this essay. On the one hand, the increasing international awareness of growth markets is spurring development in the travel sector. For example, knowledge of raw resources available in African countries has piqued the interest of manufacturing and consuming nations the world over. To capitalize on this interest, many are making expeditions to establish cross border connections with business people in the African region. Thus, it is clear that trade is one of the core reasons international travel is growing. In addition to this, growing affluence the world over has made it possible for increasing amounts of people to engage in recreational travel. For instance, Chinese tourist numbers are growing so quickly that major holiday destinations, such as the Eiffel Tower in Paris, are choosing to display their public signs in French, English and Mandarin. Thus, the unshrinking need for tourist hotspots to accommodate travellers from various countries is clear evidence that a true link between tourism numbers and international travel exists. It can therefore be concluded that growing worldwide affluence is fuelling a surge in international travel numbers. To conclude, it is clear that global trade opportunities and tourism are altering humanity’s need for international travel. It is thus expected that rates of travel will only continue to climb into the foreseeable future.