Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

Knowledge is mainly theoretical and practical based in the contemporary era. It is considered by some that in all stages of learning from primary to higher education, an excessive amount of time is allocated to theoretical learning and not satisfactory for practical skills acquisition. I completely agree with this statement ad this essay will discuss reasons for it. Firstly, in primary schools, significant emphasis is on the theoretical knowledge acquisition and rare on practical learning. Children in the primary-level are restricted to concentrate on rote learning considerably by teaching them theory all the time. They are less likely to be exposed to practical activities in academics. A recent report from Oxford University, for instance, showed that the theoretical earning of children in Asian schools at the primary-level is 95% and practical-based education is 5% only. Secondly, institutions providing tertiary education are also focusing enormously on the theoretical aspect of learning. This is because after completing higher education, even individuals are not well prepared for the challenges of the workforce environment due to their involvement in learning the theoretical aspect of subjects highly and practical one rarely. It is evident from different studies that students in each semester in universities are usually given five theoretical-based subjects and only one practical-based. Research by the World Education System, for example, revealed that tertiary education in Malaysia is resulting in producing 85% of theoretical knowledge and 15% of practical learning fostering in every undergraduate student. In conclusion, it is argued that from the beginning of education to the university level, a considerable amount of time is utilized in learning theory and not enough on practical knowledge acquisition. In my view, I fully agree with this view since children are usually taught theory in primary schools and universities are unable to produce individuals who can acquire a job after graduation owing to theoretical-based learning.