The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Some would argue that crime rates have decreased compared to the past because of the technology we have today. This essay totally agrees with this statement since several technological tools, such as cameras and GPS tracking, are the main factors in solving many crimes now, or even cases that were not solved in the past, which has helped in reducing crime figures because people can see that they can not escape from the police. Many crimes today could remain unsolved if there were no technological gadgets. Having surveillance cameras around important facilities helped a lot in detecting criminals and keeping the building safe from any crime. Also, GPS tracking devices have allowed high-ranking police officers to put them in suspect cars to see their movement in the city, which assists a lot during the investigation period to capture more criminals related to the suspect. For example, a former Saudi soldier called Turki al-Dossary was killed by a group of criminals named al-Qaeda. Those people were tracked by tracking devices person by person, and eventually led the police members to capture the boss of the gang. Past crime cases might be hard to detect the criminal since there are no technological advances. Officers in the past needed to be at the scene of the crime, which is rare, and be witnesses so that it would be good proof to the judges in court. Additionally, investigators found it difficult to let the suspect speak honestly because there was not enough proof. This helped so many gangsters to run from the police and not be captured, and their cases remained unsolved. However, after technology, more cases got solved, for instance, a serial killer called Ted Bundy remained free until 2010 were US investigators got strong proof that he killed those women, from the Fingerprint of his hand on a dead woman. To conclude, advances in technology have assisted much in various cases, whether it is in the past or not. This helped to decrease the number of crimes worldwide because people feel that they might get caught by the authorities.