Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not have to pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People work tirelessly throughout their lives to earn money. However, a major portion of their income is lost in the form of taxes. It is argued by some that the hard-earned money should be retained by the people, rather than paying a portion to the government in the form of taxes. I completely disagree with the above-mentioned statement and believe that it is entirely necessary to contribute to the government in the form of taxes. To begin with, some people are wary of contributing a part of their salary. Instead, they prefer to use the money for their own needs. Money is everything in today’s world and is used to buy most of the amenities including food, clothing and shelter. People need money for the good upbringing of their children and to have a healthy lifestyle. In addition, people also need money to invest and secure for their future. Also, certain rich or developed nation doesn’t tax their people. For instance, people working in certain Gulf countries are not obliged to pay taxes. Thus, people from certain sections of the society have apprehensions about paying taxes. However, the idea that people should not pay taxes is completely preposterous. Nevertheless, there are several reasons which states why citizens should oblige to pay. For the state to function efficiently and effectively it needs funds at its disposal, which is usually collected by the government in the form of taxes. Administration, defence and infrastructure development are all responsibilities of the government. These services are of utmost importance and would eventually prove to be advantageous for the people of the country, as this money would return to them in some form of service. Moreover, it is the responsibility of the individual to contribute to the social and economic progress of the country. To conclude, people advocating to the prospect that they should not be taxed have a flawed understanding about the topic. The ramifications of not paying taxes will have adverse impacts on the economy and the services which the government provides to the people.