These days many children spend a great deal of time sitting in from of a television. Some people believe that parents should strictly limit the time that children spend watching TV as it is harmful to their development. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, most of the youngsters are glued to television screen most time of the day. Many support the view that guardians should restrict the television time for their offsprings as this has a negative effect on them. I completely agree with this narrative, because this affects both their mental and physical health, and also diverts their minds from productive activities. One of the biggest challenges faced in parenting is to bring up their descendants in the age of television. Due to a wide variety of entertaining content available over the push of a button, our younger generation prefers to stay at home watching these. This, kind of, addictive habit hinders them to go participate in outdoor sports activities, which affects their cognitive and dextral abilities. For example, if a child spends his evening watching television rather than playing with his friends, he would not only, slowly, suffer from weakened muscular development, but also suffer from social disconnection. Thus, depriving of them from important physical and emotional development. Another issue associated with this is the lack of focus towards studies and other fruitful activities. Many a times unrestricted access to television leads children to mismanaged time, and it makes them less focused on their studies which gravely affects their academic standing. For instance, a similar situation happened to my cousin Ali, he got himself so indulged into this series named "Breaking Bad" that he used to lock himself up and was used to watch it continuously for hours, but this habit of his resulted in the class demotion after he failed his final exam. If instead he had managed his time and had studied, this would not have had happened. Therefore, children should be allowed to get themselves entertained, but a balance between fun and work should always remain. In conclusion, Although television time these days have increased due to the variety of shows broadcasted every day, it is the parents' responsibility to manage the time allotted to television as well as other academic activities for the wellbeing of their young ones.