Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children doing paid work.

The idea of children doing paid work is debatable. While a good number of people are of the opinion that it is advantageous to children, other people have a contrary view. Children can benefit greatly from carrying out paid work; however, there are also some disadvantages to be considered. First of all, one of the important benefits of paid work for children is that it helps them to appreciate the value of money. As a result, they understand that money does not come cheap but through hard work. Secondly, doing a paid job also helps a child learn how to manage resources properly, as a result, they are able to save their money for important projects in the future. For instance, such children can save enough funds to support their parents in paying their tuition fees. Again, when children have the opportunity to work, they learn new skills and are exposed to various work experiences which will be useful to them later in life. For instance, working children will enjoy the benefit of learning good teamwork skills, ability to multitask, ability to work with less supervision and other work related experiences. These skills will help children develop and get them an edge over their peers when they are ready for the job market. On the other hand, there are some problems that could arise when young ones engage in paid work. One of these is that such children tend to lose focus and divert all their attention to the job rather than concentrate on doing well in their studies. This may ultimately lead to poor performance and increase in failure rate in schools. Another downside of children in the workforce is that it potentially leads to child abuse. For example, a child may be forced to take up specific jobs or responsibilities which are beyond their physical strength. This could have a devastating effect on their health. Finally, children who engage in paid work lack the opportunity to engage in extracurricular activities such as sports, music, debates and other organized group activities where children are supposed to learn and develop wholesomely. In conclusion, the advantages of having children do work for money are tremendous as outlined above, to mention a few; however, one cannot also underestimate the likely negative consequences of paid work on children.