An increasing number of advertisements on TV aim at children. What are the effects of television advertising? Should television advertising be controlled?

There is an increase of below-the-line advertising whose main target is children who could be negatively influenced if repetitively watching them over a short time. In my opinion, advertisements showed on television should be put under close supervision of the authority. On the one hand, it is no doubt that adverts can have a number of harmful effects on children's behaviour and eating habit. By showing these youngsters with colourful animation of famous toy and comic characters, catchy sounds and jingles, this type of TV programs creates a desire of them to become the owner that product. Due to the impressionable nature, these naive ones are going to put pressure on their parents to buy it for them until they can finally put a hand on the advertised toy or food, etc. If the parents decide to give in to all of their son or daughter's demands, eventually, they will spoil the child. Another reason to be worried about is that most types of promoted food or drink, such as, fast foods and soft drinks, are clearly not healthy and nourishing, yet can be irresistible to young people. Consequently, if children start to consume a large amount of this kind of food, it will increase the risk of catching physical illnesses, for instance, obesity, high blood pressure, cardiovascular disease, etc. On the other hand, it is undeniable the enormous benefits that advertising can generate to the companies in particular and to the economy in general. Nevertheless, when it comes to the well being and metal health of young generation, the government should strictly regulate which adverts can be shown to young TV watchers through the means of law and punishment. For example, cigarette and beverage must not be promoted by any kind of media, let alone television while the advertisements of junk-food and confectionery may only appear on channels few times a day. In conclusion, owing to the fact that television advertisements have a wide range of harm to children, they should be closely controlled by the government.