Shopping is now one of the most famous forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. What is the reason? Is it positive or negative

A multitude of young populace in numerous nations considers shopping as one of the most sough-after medium in spare time. This trend is gaining momentum due to the easy access to products. I firmly believe that it has a detrimental effect on individuals. To embark on, nowadays, youths resort to purchasing products in their free time owing to the availability of goods. With the opening up of new shopping avenues, such as malls and supermarkets, youngsters are at ease to drive at such destinations and indulge in casual purchase. Moreover, with the advent of online shopping, the young generation finds it quite convenient to glance at articles, and if they find it attractive or useful, then they buy it without any qualms. Most of the adolescents could be seen hooked on to shopping portals, such as Amazon, Flipkart, and Myntra, during leisure period. Shopping used to be a necessity; however, in the present era, it seems to be deleterious. Youths are getting trapped in a hobby that is unproductive in nature; it is merely squandering of time and financial resources. Although shopping rejuvenates an individual, it does not bear fruit in terms of knowledge. A person could not attain any merit for future prospects. Moreover, youngsters are becoming shopaholic. It has been elucidated in an editorial in The Times magazine that youths are addicted to this damaging practice of shopping. Youngsters procure a sense of pleasure and satisfaction while shopping and they surrender themselves to this activity whenever they feel the urge. To recapitulate, while shopping is one of the famous pass time for today’s youth due to readily available products, it is fruitless business.