Many working people get little or no exercise during the workday or in their free time and have health problems as a result. Why do many people do not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

More and more people in the workforce are not exercising enough during the workday, and are becoming physically unfit. This is as a result of the hectic nature of some jobs experienced by workers. The solution to this must be that organizations must give more free days at the office. One of the significant causes of this problem is the busy schedule registered by many at work. This simply means that people are constantly working for long hours each day at the office. Consequently, people do not have the opportunity to go to fitness centres. This will eventually lead to so many people having health issues. For example, the Vanguard Newspaper reported that 70% of the working population in India are suffering from stress due to the long hours spent at their duty post and the inability to go for workout sessions. Thus, being too occupied in an establishment can lead to not having the chance to go to the gym. However, a good solution to this problem will be that private companies should be flexible enough to reduce the hours spent at the office. In other words, employers must create free sessions at work so that employees can exercise more. To illustrate, in 2000, 50 out of 60 industries in the US cut back the number of working hours from eight hours to six hours, and this has helped workers to have more time to keep fit. Hence, managers are encouraged to slash the number of working hours to give time for other activities. To sum up, many people can not perform exercises regularly because of the little time spent outside of work. Company leaders must, therefore, consider reducing the hours spent working. If this is done, then there will be more healthy people in the society.