Violence in media promotes violence in society. To what extent do you agree.

Violence is not a solution of any problem. Promoting it on media increases violent instances in the community. This essay points out why I completely agree with this statement. Firstly, visual medium is the fastest way to learn. Humans tend to follow what they see. People are surrounded by the news. If majority of news sources cover violent acts of people, the viewers are bound to repeat those ill acts. Most of us hold grudges against someone or the other. When one sees a violent activity, they feel that this can make the situation better for themselves. But what they fail to see is the consequence of the step taken. This after effects are not shown by the media. Secondly, the unawareness of the law instigates ill-literate people to perform physical abuse. Literacy makes one aware of the results of committing a crime and hence might not attempt it. On the contrary, ill-literate people often commit crimes without the knowledge of the legalities involved. In a recent survey carried out across the seven central prisons in the country, it was discovered that 92% of criminals were not educated, and 80% of them confessed of news being a major driving force to commit crime. Lastly, media houses nowadays want to earn heavily rather than enlighten the masses. It is known fact that, people love to hear negatives as compared to positives pertaining to any person, an organization or a country. A news channel thrives on this fact to earn profits. Ideally, there should be a balance between good and bad news. To add to this, any bad news should be supported by the results that are outcomes of the act. For example, if there is a robbery video telecasted on a TV channel, they must even show what kind of punishment will the robbers get when caught. This will cut down, if not all, a few incidents. To conclude, I am in total agreement with the statement and strongly believe that news channels are indirectly culpable for the crimes anywhere in the world.