Modern technology, such as personal computers and the Internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Technological advances have a profound impact on the way people work. With the advent of high-speed telecommunication and videoconferencing systems, employees can now work from the comfort of their homes rather than travelling to the office daily. This essay argues that a remote work option has not only eliminated the commute time and reduced employee work stress, but also increased the communication gap among the team members. Through remote working, employees can save their travel time and also maintain their work -life balance. Travelling to work consumes a major portion of an individual’s time, and through telecommuting, they can use this time for personal and professional benefits. For example, through a remote working option, companies like IBM not only enhanced their employee job satisfaction but also significantly reduced workforce attrition. Work -related stress will automatically reduce with less time to travel and better job satisfaction. Furthermore, happy and productive employees lead to better customer satisfaction and more profits for the organization. To confirm this, in a recent Harvard Business Review study, organizations with remote work option for the employees are 20% more profitable compared to organizations that don’t give a telecommuting option. Thus, work from home not only enhances employee satisfaction, but also increases profits for the organization. On the contrary, distributed teams working at different locations result in communication gaps and the remote working option doesn’t suit all kinds of job profiles. Teams that don’t work together at a single location often have difficulty in resolving verbal and non-verbal communication issues. Unless there are clear tools and processes defined, remote working will cause a massive drop in productivity for the teams. Moreover, customer-facing roles like cashiers, shop floor employees, top management of the organization, etc continuing in the same way etc. should be always available at the location and can’t have work from home option. Thus, if not properly planned, remote working can result in a tremendous drop in productivity and customer satisfaction. In summary, the digital era has significantly transformed the way people work. While telecommuting has significant advantages as improving employee satisfaction and reducing employee travel time, it can also result in drastic communication gaps among the team members. A well planned and the co-ordinated remote working option is beneficial to both the employees and the organizations.